Using HTML/CSS/JS instead of inbuilt tools/WordPress

Ourlocality Website Support Forum Forums Website Community Support Using HTML/CSS/JS instead of inbuilt tools/WordPress

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Guy McLean 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Guy McLean

Hi there, I’m new to Our Locality and will be overhauling the Dunbar woods website. I’m still getting used to the interface of ourlocality and I’ve no experience with WordPress.

Would it be possible for me to upload a bunch of files, and have them hosted on ourlocality without using any of the tools? If this is not possible, is there any workaround to a similar effect?

Many thanks,
    Guy

#1795 Reply

admini

The short answer is no, as the free service we offer is based on WordPress Multisite.

If you’re up for giving our flavour of WordPress a go, pick a suitable template and in the customiser you’ll find that you can override css – or even start from scratch.

We will entertain ideas and collaborations that help us leverage WordPress better for the widest community benefit, make it as easy as possible for folk to publish and network, promote their project, initiative or cause.

We do not provide free space for standalone sites, as this produces no wider network benefits, would dilute our efforts and fragment our community.

Hope that helps

#1797 Reply

Guy McLean

Thanks for your speedy reply Philip – that all makes sense. Looks like I’ll be learning to use WordPress then!

#1801 Reply

admini

No problem, I think you’ll find it is a breeze to use and you should be able to get from 0 to 60 in little or no time and start publishing.

If you’re looking to do a site refresh and retain the existing content, setup a new site, export the content via xml and then import it into the new.